Single Review : Converge – Under Duress

Converge - The Dusk In UsAs a teaser for their upcoming album ‘The Dusk In Us’, Converge, have just released a song from the album:  Under Duress. Earlier this year Converge released a 7″ that already served as a teaser, but now it’s an actual track from the new album. Read a review here of I Can Tell You About Pain / Eve.

Under Duress is Converge as we know them, thrashy guitars, Jacob Bannon screaming his lungs out, loads of feedback in between the chunky chords. All working together to give an energetic manifesting song. What I hear is something inbetween Deftones, Rage Against The Machine, Tool and Melvins.

The opening of the song iss very Tool sounding to me. To change in to a more Melvins like sound, specially with the screams. The laid back feeling remings me of RATM, but I guess Converge have always had that. And finally the melodic touches reminds me of Deftones. It’s a good mixture, and makes this song compelling, and really makes me look forward to the full album.

I think Jacob Bannon serves one of his better vocal performances on this song.

The full tracklist to The Dusk In Us will be :

The Dusk In Us Tracklist:
01. A Single Tear
02. Eye of the Quarrel
03. Under Duress
04. Arkhipov Calm
05. I Can Tell You About Pain
06. The Dusk in Us
07. Wildlife
08. Murk & Marrow
09. Trigger
10. Broken by Light
11. Cannibals
12. Thousands of Miles Between Us
13. Reptilian

Converge made a cool video to Under Duress, watch it here

Please follow and like us:

Converge - Under Duress

Converge - Under Duress


9.0 /10


8.0 /10


7.0 /10


  • A Spot on Converge single


  • Could have been interesting if Converge has brought something new to their sound

Soren Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *